– St. St. Teodor Tiron and Teodor Stratilat

St. St. Teodor Tiron and Teodor Stratilat, Dobarsko

GPS coordinates: N 41.970722, E 23.474006

The church of Sveti Sveti Teodor Tiron and Teodor Stratilat in the village of Dobarsko is one of the few Bulgarian churches from the 17th century that have come to the present day in their authentic status. It was built in 1614 and designated as a cultural monument of national importance in 1977.

The old church has its own history and attracts visitors with its unusual symbolism. Dug into the ground and without a cross to the East and a bell-tower to the West, it has been painted by the old masters of the famous Debarsko School of Art. The uniqueness of the church is very much related to the beautiful murals depicting the spirit of Christian canons.

Of greatest interest is the mural called The Transfiguration of God. With a touch of imagination, one could see the image of Christ depicted in a jet rocket.

The great value of the murals and the iconostasis of the church determine its importance for the development of Bulgarian art as a whole. The church was fully restored in the 70s of the last century. The masterful images are impressively vital and somewhat remind the visitor of the Florence masterpieces of the Renaissance artist Giotto. The murals cover an area of 160 sq. m., including 460 images, 30 of which are female.

Visitors can admire the spirit of builders and painters who have left a puzzle for future generations – a temple carrying its uniqueness and beauty in harmony with local nature. The church has been listed in the national initiative “The 100 National Tourist Sites of Bulgaria”.

Our Partners

Проектът е съфинансиран от Европейския Фонд за Регионално Развитие /ЕФРР/ и от националните фондове на участващите страни в Програмата за сътрудничество ИНТЕРРЕГ V-A “Гърция – България 2014 - 2020”

The project is co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund /ERDF/ and by the national funds of the participating countries in the INTERREG V-A "Greece - Bulgaria 2014 - 2020" Cooperation Programme

Back to top